Ed Eilert – Curriculum Vitae

Ed Eilert – Curriculum Vitae


Ed Eilert
8617 West 88th Terrace
Overland Park, Kansas 66212

Birthplace: Furley, Kansas
Johnson County resident since 1965
Married to Jan, proud father to three children


Educational Background, Honors and Clubs:

Emporia State University

  • Bachelor of Science in Business Administration
  • Master of Science in Business Education
  • Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity – President
  • Blue Key Honor Society – Charter Member
  • Delta Pi Epsilon – Honorary Graduate Business Education Society
  • Beta Gamma Sigma – International Honor Society for Business Students-Honorary Member

Business Experience

  • Midwest Trust Co. – Board of Directors
  • A. G. Edwards & Sons Inc. – Financial Advisor
  • Metcalf Bank – Board of Directors
  • Emporia State University School of Business – Council of Advisors
  • Bache & Co. – Financial Advisor
  • Shawnee Mission East High School – Business Teacher
  • Lebo (Kansas) High School – Business Teacher


Elected Office

  • Johnson County Commission Chairman – elected 2010, re-elected in 2014
  • County Commission, District 4- Overland Park – 2006-2010
  • Mayor – Overland Park – 1981-2005
  • Overland Park City Council – 1977-1981


Board and Association Memberships

  • League of Kansas Municipalities – President, Board of Directors-member
  • National League of Cities – Board of Directors, Advisory Council member
  • National League of Cities – Chairman:  Energy, Environment & Natural Resources Policy Committee
  • Johnson/Wyandotte County Council of Mayors-Secretary/Treasurer
  • Kansas Association of Counties – Board of Directors
  • Kansas & Missouri Metropolitan Cultural District (Bi-State) Commission – Charter Member
  • Johnson County Education Research Triangle (JCERT) Authority – Appointed by Kansas Board of     Regents, elected Chairman
  • Enterprise Center of Johnson County – ex-officio board member
  • Olathe Chamber of Commerce – ex-officio board member
  • Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce – ex-officio board member
  • Large Urban County Caucus – current steering committee member
  • National Association of Counties – member, past Board of Directors
  • Kansas Association of Counties – Board of Directors (current)
  • Criminal Justice Advisory Council – current member


Commission Liaison Activities

  • Airport Commission
  • Housing & Community Development Advisory Committee
  • Investment Review Group
  • Johnson County Library Board
  • Johnson County Mental Health Board


Regional Activities

  • CORE4 Initiative (The city/county managers from the City of Kansas City, Missouri, Jackson County, Missouri, Johnson County, Kansas and the Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas meet to discuss topics of common concern.)
  • Member, Bistate I Commission:  The bistate sales tax fully renovated historic Union Station and added Science City.
  • Mid-America Regional Council – current board member


Community Activities

  • United Community Services of Johnson County – Advisory Board
  • Friends of Johnson County Developmental Supports – Charter Member
  • Overland Park South Rotary Club – charter member
  • Friends of the Farmstead member
  • Friends of the Arboretum member
  • Overland Park Historical Society member
  • Overland Park Christian Church – member, elder and past Chairman of the Board
  • TLC for Children and Families Annual Fund Campaign – past Honorary Chair
  • Kansas Business Hall of Fame – past Board Member


Professional Recognition and Honors

  • 2018 Martin Luther King Jr. Legacy Award – presented by the Leawood, Olathe and Overland Park chapters of the NAACP.  The legacy award recognizes Eilert’s career of public service in Johnson County.
  • 2017 Overland Park Chamber Lifetime Achievement Award recipient
  • 2005 Johnson Countian of the Year – Johnson County Community College Foundation
  • Excellence in Local Government Award – League of Kansas Municipalities
  • Distinguished Alumni Award – Emporia State University
  • Friend of Education – Blue Valley School District
  • Distinguished Public Service Award – United Community Services of Johnson County
  • Distinguished Achievement Award – Sigma Tau Gamma Fraternity
  • Paul Harris Fellow – Overland Park South Rotary Club
  • Vocational Service Award – Overland Park South Rotary Club